Needed vs Ritual
Needed Prenatal Multi vs Ritual Essential Prenatal · last verified Aug 4, 2026 and Aug 15, 2026
Both are vegan capsule prenatals using the same folate form (L-5-MTHF), priced within $1.33 a month of each other. They differ most in how they are put together: Ritual is built as a single all-in-one, while Needed keeps iron and DHA as separate add-ons by design.
Which one fits your situation
Needed suits you if…
- You want to dose iron yourself. Needed leaves iron out on purpose and sells it as a separate add-on, so the amount and the timing are yours to set.
- You want the higher choline and vitamin D figures — 200 mg and 4000 IU, against 55 mg and 2000 IU.
- Three capsules a day suits you, and a second bottle for iron is not a hassle.
Ritual suits you if…
- You want iron and DHA in the same capsules rather than tracking separate bottles — Ritual includes 18 mg and 350 mg at a fixed dose.
- You'd rather take two capsules a day than three.
- You want allergen claims stated on the label rather than in an FAQ. Ritual lists gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free and soy-free; Needed's list sits in its FAQ, is not specified on the label, and does not mention gluten.
Every figure above comes from the full comparison below, or from what the brand publishes itself. How much iron you need is a question for your clinician, not for us.
These are affiliate links. They do not change the price you pay, and they play no part in what this page says.
Where they differ
| Field | NeededPrenatal Multivitamin | RitualPrenatal Multivitamin |
|---|---|---|
| Cost per monthOne-time price at the brand's own site, normalised to 30 days. | $42.99/mo | $44.32/mo |
| Cost per day | $1.43 | $1.48 |
| Base pack | $42.99 for 90 capsules (30-day supply) | $44.32 for 60 capsules (30-day supply) |
| Capsules per day | 3 | 2 |
| FolateBoth use the same form: L-5-MTHF. | 918 mcg DFE | 1000 mcg DFE |
| Choline | 200 mg | 55 mg |
| Iron | None | 18 mg |
| Iron form | Iron-free | Gentle chelate (bisglycinate) |
| DHA | None | 350 mg |
| Vitamin D | 4000 IU | 2000 IU |
| Nausea positioning | None stated | Positioned as gentle |
| All-in-one or add-onsTwo design choices, not a more-and-less. See the note below the table. | Iron, DHA, and additional choline sold separately (Choline+, Omega-3 Pro, Iron) | None — designed as a complete all-in-one formula (folate, choline, DHA, iron all included) |
| Third-party testing | Clean Label Project Certified; brand also states third-party testing but names no certifier | Clean Label Project Purity Award; brand also states third-party testing of every lot for heavy metals, allergens and microbes but names no certifier |
| Shipping | Free on subscription, $7 one-time | Free on subscription, $10.99 one-time |
On iron, the two are answering different questions. Ritual includes 18 mg as chelated iron so the formula stands alone at a fixed dose. Needed leaves iron out and sells it separately, and says why: in its own FAQ it recommends taking iron away from the multivitamin because "Iron and some other minerals absorb best apart," and recommends testing ferritin and taking only as much as you need. The US National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements notes that calcium might interfere with iron absorption — adding that the effect "has not been definitively established" and is attenuated by a typical Western diet — and that experts suggest taking individual calcium and iron supplements at different times of day. So separating iron is a deliberate design position with a stated rationale, not a gap in the formula. We don't hold calcium figures for either product, so this page makes no claim about how either one interacts with calcium in practice. How much iron you need, and when, is a question for your clinician.
Sources: Needed, Prenatal Multi Essentials FAQ (loaded 2026-08-15) · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet for health professionals (loaded 2026-08-15)
On allergens, the difference is where the claim lives, not what's in the bottle. Ritual states its claims on the label: Gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, soy-free, no artificial colors/flavors. Vegan certified. DHA is 350mg from Schizochytrium sp. whole microalgae (supplier Algarithm), not fish — brand states it uses algal oil specifically so fish-avoiders and vegans can take it. Needed does not specify allergen claims on the label; its FAQ states the formula is "Vegetarian and non-GMO. Made without eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, sesame, shellfish, soy, tree nut allergens". That list does not mention gluten, so we record Needed's gluten status as not stated — which means the brand publishes no claim either way, not that the product contains gluten. If you are avoiding a specific allergen, check the current label before you buy.
Where they match
- Format: Capsule
- Folate form: Methylated (5-MTHF)
- Dyes: Dye-free (confirmed)
- Third-party tested: Yes
- Testing tier: Independently verified
- Vegan: Yes
- Where you can buy it: The brand's own site
Where to buy
These are affiliate links. They do not change the price you pay, and they play no part in what this page says.
Read more
Product data last verified: Needed Aug 4, 2026, Ritual Aug 15, 2026. Prices last checked Aug 6, 2026 and Aug 6, 2026, at the brand's own site. We list only prices we have loaded ourselves.